National Curriculum

The National Curriculum


The National Curriculum sets out the skills, knowledge and understanding that children should be taught in primary schools and secondary schools.  The National Curriculum was introduced in 1988 and since then has been revised a number of times, the latest revision being that implemented in September 2014.  Schools are free to determine the way in which they teach the required skills and knowledge set out in the National Curriculum as long as the school curriculum ensures:

  • coverage of the Programmes of Study to be taught by the end of Key Stage 1 and Key Stage 2
  • progression of skills from one year group to the next

The Programmes of Study for each subject can be viewed via the list below.

Key Stages 1 and 2

Key Stage 2 Only


Translate »